Mom in a Blender

The life of a mom is like living in a blender

Psychic

Recently my daughter asked me if I had ever gone to a psychic. I replied that yes I had gone to a psychic but that it was rather stupid of me. I went on to explain to my daughter that no psychic in their right mind would tell a person they are going to die tomorrow or be the bearer of some other unfortunate news. When I was a young child I always hoped some unknown God only knows what would strike down and remove me from my terrible abusive home life. So many people are walking around looking for something from another realm to reassure them that everything will be ok. For the religious it may be faith and I do believe faith is blind. As much as we want to know what tomorrow will bring, what would we do if we knew tomorrow brought something as tragic as our own death? We would not be able to stop it, as much as we would try. I always say everything works out for the best though there have been many times in my life where I have been so worried, I always thought if only I knew tomorrow would be ok. It’s not always easy to keep repeating that mantra. I often times have a hard time convincing myself that things will work out in the end. I have been tempted to go to a psychic again just to get that reassurance, but that is a psychic’s job; to reassure. There is no true validity.

I bet we all suffer from doubt about the future in some way and we all want to think our future will be ok. So much has happened to me in my life and it’s probably equal good and bad. I always tell my children things will be ok, but that is my job as their mother, though often times even I have doubt.

Over and out 🙂

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment