Mom in a Blender

The life of a mom is like living in a blender

Home School Wk 17

I love homeschooling my daughter. Each week she continues to impress me. She has worked hard these past 17 weeks and I am just so proud. I give her a lot of work. She says I give her more work than she was given in traditional school. I don’t know about that. The only thing I do know is I don’t want to fail my daughter. Taking on the task to educate my daughter is not as challenging as I thought it would be. I guess this is because I am having so much fun. I enjoy the material. As an almost forty year old I love learning about things I did not care about when I was in school. I was like my daughter where I loved art class. I did like math and science, but only because I did not really have to study for those classes. I had a hard time studying. I believe that is why I understand my daughter so much.

In history we continued to read about slavery. My daughter is tired of learning about slavery and women’s rights but her curriculum is United States history. So much of United States history revolves around slavery so it is what it is. I myself find the slavery issue very interesting and how people knew slavery was wrong, but it seemed ending slavery was not as simple as simply declaring slavery over. Slavery took jobs from white workers. I am sure a slave owner would rather have a slave working the land than to have to pay someone. The text referenced Uncle Tom’s Cabin. I read a lot when I was a child but I never read Uncle Tom’s Cabin. Maybe one day I will. I won’t torture my daughter by making her read it. I look at slavery from putting myself in a slave’s shoes. Freedom is priceless.

The science discussion focused on Earth science. I always hated Earth science and as I review the material I think to myself, how boring! I don’t reveal my feeling to my daughter but I know she thinks the same.

I had my daughter create a power point on lung disease. She did a magnificent job. Her power points are beautiful and creative. Next week is her winter break and I think we both need it to refresh. Working full time and homeschooling full time is rewarding but draining.

As always looking forward to next week, break!! Yippee!

Over and out 🙂

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Home School Wk 17

  1. Look into the Zinn Project.org It is full of history that is truthful and interesting. I did read Uncle Tom’s Cabin and while worth the read it was not what I had imagined from all the chatter. The Narrative of the life and times of Fredrick Douglas is very interesting and inspiring. zinnproject.org will help make thing more interesting, I hope!

  2. That is great, I am sure that the amount of work you give her is substantially more than they would at a traditional school, and of course the quality of teaching she receives is incomparable. I wish I could do that, but my wife and I have full work days, and it is not possible, at least at the moment.

    • If she were a small child I would not be able to do it either as I work full time. I just love we live in a society where people can step out of the cramped box of the past and do something evolutionary that does work! Thank you:)

Leave a comment